Posted by: silverstar98121 | August 21, 2008

doldrums – Definitions from Dictionary.com

6 results for: doldrums Browse Nearby Entries

Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) – Cite This Source – Share This

dol·drums Audio Help /ˈdoʊldrəmz, ˈdɒl-, ˈdɔl-/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[dohl-druhmz, dol-, dawl-] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation

–noun (used with a plural verb)

1. a state of inactivity or stagnation, as in business or art: August is a time of doldrums for many enterprises.

2. the doldrums,

a. a belt of calms and light baffling winds north of the equator between the northern and southern trade winds in the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.

b. the weather prevailing in this area.

3. a dull, listless, depressed mood; low spirits.

[Origin: 1795–1805; obs. dold stupid (see dolt) + -rum(s) (pl.) n. suffix (see tantrum)]

—Synonyms 3. depression, gloom, melancholy, dejection.

doldrums – Definitions from Dictionary.com

This is where I’ve been lately, becalmed in the sea of my life. First there was the heat. Now there is the rain. Rain is better than heat, but not much. And it brings with it fears we won’t see the sun again until next June, a not unreasonable fear given the kind of weather we’ve had this year, what with June-uary and all. I’m not the only one feeling this. Seoul Brother, a guy from Tacoma I follow on Twitter, expressed this fear just yesterday.

Now, how to get out of the doldrums. I’m trying. First I had to wash dishes, then I had to cook. More cooking is in store, and making bread. Fresh baked bread always makes it better. I have a couple of books I need to get read before, yikes, tommorrow. Better get on that. Non-fiction is so hard these days, though.

While I was digging for the pictures of hole-in-the-wall, I realized my photo collection is out of control. I used to live with someone who did photography as a hobby, and so I have thousands of photos. Many of them are duplicates, from back in the days when they gave you an extra set. I need to put a lot of them in scrapbooks and label them while I still remember who and where they are. Making video scrapbooks and slideshows would be a good idea, too. I promised my sister I would make a slide show of my Dad’s life for when the inevitable occurs. Apparently they are all the rage at funerals these days. To do that I need to dump the backup off one of my external hard drives. Video sucks up 1 gig every four minutes. Or I need to get a Drobo with about 4 terabytes of hard drives. Yeah, like that’s going to happen.

Meanwhile, that gives me something to work on this winter. Along with other stuff. Baking, much more baking. Cooking beans and soups. And BTW, I like that new “Press This” thing that WordPress just installed. It’s cool. And now, back to my regularly scheduled doldrums.

Responses

  1. Sorting through and organising old photos (I have a huge scary box of them in a storage cupboard) was going to be my last summer’s project. I took the box down, went through most of the envelopes, spread photos out all over the table, then suddenly went gaaaaaa! and stuffed everything back up in the cupboard. Perhaps I should try again.

    In any case, I’m not sure how this sort of activity is meant to get you out of the doldrums – it made me feel totally overwhelmed and depressed. Especially finding photos of me taken 25 years ago when I weighed 120 lbs.

    Good luck with your projects!

  2. good opportunity to reflect – i did the photo collage for Dad’s funeral (including a shot of him at his 75th birthday party with the Hooter’s Girls!). i still have it…

    how long till you get your wheels back?

  3. wow you are such a tech head. I’m envious…

  4. yeah, rain makes me fearful ever since the summer of ’93 and the flooding.

    it is Vancouverish here today and I don’t like it. Cooler is great. Dreary is not.

  5. Azahar- It’s been 35 years since I weighed 120 lbs. Besides, I figured the only reason my Irish ancestors survived the Famine was a genetic inclination to pack on the pounds. Especially with starches like potatoes. Family pictures bear me out. I’m the family historian, if I don’t do this, nobody will.

    Daisy Fae- yep, that’s what I hope to get out of it. As to the wheels, don’t know. I will just suddenly get a call from Scooterman when the parts are in. *patience*

    Nurse Myra-I prefer the term “geek” but yeah, if I had been born 20 years later, I probably would have been in a tech career.

    Annie-I hear you. It’s too soon for the drear. I’ll have to fire up my SAD light.

  6. I’m not the only one feeling this.

    Yeah. I’ve been feeling something too. Another blogger I read used a Star Wars reference, “I feel a disturbance in the Force.” to describe the doom and gloom feeling.

    We’ll just have to ride it out, convincing ourselves that there truly are sunnier days ahead.


Leave a Reply

Categories

