Posted by: silverstar98121 | June 5, 2010

RIP Friday

Earlier this week, it was apparent it was time to let Friday go. She was having more trouble breathing, was losing her house manners, barely eating, and her stools had turned dark, which may have indicated some GI bleeding from her NSAID med. I told The Boyo before he left for work on Tuesday that I thought I would do it this week when I got paid. I called and made an appointment with the vet, specifying it was for euthanasia, and set it for when The Boyo would be off work so he could go with me.

We were supposed to meet at a certain place and ride the bus together. Didn’t happen. The buses were screwed up, and then when I tried to call him, my phone was screwed up, and I couldn’t hear. Eventually, we sent smoke signals, and determined we would meet at the clinic.

When we were shown into the room, the lights were low, and there was a fleecy blanket over the exam table. They took Friday off to put an IV catheter in her, and while she was gone, The Boyo showed up. They brought her back, and we spent a few minutes petting and loving on her, and giving her lots of treats. The vet came in then, and we talked about all the problems she had been having.

The vet went to go get the shots ready, and we gave Friday some more loving. When the vet came back, I lifted Friday to the table, and then held her while the drugs were administered. As soon as the vet pronounced her gone, The Boyo and I were both in tears. This is her last picture, taken in the vets office. I’m glad we let her go while she still had the capacity to be a happy dog, at least some of the time. But I miss her already. The last time I saw her she was wrapped in the fleecy blanket, and at peace.

We went to the animal shelter, which is across the street, to let them know to cancel her tag. And while we were there, we went to look at the dogs for adoption. I know, silly us. There was one that was so ugly she was cute, and we liked her a lot. Unfortunately, they think she has behavior problems, and they are going to send her to foster care. We went out and visited with her as the volunteer walked her. Sorry, she is just a big, overgrown puppy who hasn’t had any training. However, she is food motivated, and I taught her to do “High Five” in the few minutes we were there with her. Hmm, maybe I should volunteer to walk the dogs.

Sadly, the Seattle Animal Shelter mostly gets pit bulls and Rottweilers, both of which are prohibited by my lease, even as service dogs. The little dog we liked, called Sally, was the only one who wasn’t a pittie or a rottie in the whole place.  *sigh* And god only know what she had in her. She looked like something that had been glued together by a committee.

After the animal shelter, we went to supper, and then went to see Shrek, the Final Chapter. I needed fluff, I’m telling you. I picked that movie out, and we saw it at a theater we’ve never been to for shits and giggles. And I was fine, until the movie was over, and we were almost alone in the theater. Then I started thinking about putting away or giving away Friday’s things, and I lost it. I lost it again just now, walking into the kitchen and seeing her food dish.

The plan now is to take 30 days more or less to get the fleas out of the house, and get it cleaned up, then bring whoever is supposed to be here home. I’d love to have Sally, and she would definitely be a challenge for me, but unless I call them and visit them all the time, and make it clear I think I can handle this dog, it ain’t happening. She’s a little bigger than what our lease specifies, so I will have to get my doctor involved, and have her order me a bigger dog. And I can’t just set my sights on this dog, I will have to look at other dogs, too. Because if I don’t have another dog soon, I probably will not leave the apartment much. And that would be bad for my mental health. So if you’ve got any magic to help me find the right dog, I’d appreciate you sending it this way.

Responses

  1. so hard to say goodbye, but you did it with love and consideration – and in the end, that’s what we owe them for their companionship…

    the right pup will be there for you. i know it.

  2. I am so sorry to read about Friday.

    The right puppy will appear, as Daisy said.

  3. Intellectually, we know that days like this (and losses) await us. Yet that doesn’t make it any easier when the day arrives. I’m sorry for your loss, Silverstar.

    Having read your writings about your relationship with Friday over these past years, I know how much she meant to you, on many levels.

    However, I’m sure that the universe will place the perfect puppy for a new companion in front of you.

    Take care.

  4. So sorry to hear that Friday is gone. I was not aware that she was sick, but sometimes these things come on pretty fast. You are in my thoughts and prayers as you grieve your loss and look forward to a new companion. I hope that all turns out well for you. Maybe Sally will be the right one? Here’s hoping so!

  5. I’m so sorry to hear about Friday. It is so difficult to let go of our companions; I know how hard the decision is and I’m sure you did it at the perfect time.

    I will definitely send you some magic for the right pup to appear, as I’m sure it will!

    Blessed be, Silverstar.

  6. I’m so sorry to hear this. Friday was a total sweetheart, and I know that you and she were, in many ways, soulmates.

    I also know that the right dog is waiting for you. It will absolutely happen, just as the universe decrees it should. There’s a dog out there who needs you as much as you need it…

    Big hugs,

    Sally

  7. Sorry for such a late reply – I have been very behind in blog reading this month.

    It was both heart-breaking and very touching to read about Friday, especially as her last moments were so filled with love. *hugs*

  8. oh silverstar I’m so sorry about this. Glad you were with Friday and she was peaceful at the end. *hugs*


Leave a Reply

Categories

