Posted by: silverstar98121 | March 19, 2010

Tink, tink, tink

The Boyo, with new hatWell, I told you I didn’t like how The Boyo’s hat turned out. The more I looked at it, the more I hated it.  It was so tall, it looked like a Cat in the Hat hat. I knew that The Boyo wanted it to fit tightly, too, so it would fit under his bicycle helmet, and the tall hat would not cut it. So I ended up frogging about 3/4 of it out, and starting over. (It’s called frogging because you rip-it rip-it.)

Anyway, frogging is only half the fun. The trick is to frog it to about two rows above where you want to be, and then you tink. Tink is knit spelled backwards, and basically what you are doing is unknitting stitch by stitch, and catching each stitch on a needle. You have to be painstaking,  or you will drop a stitch.

Then I had the fun of reknitting the hat. I hated the pattern. Not only did it leave out crucial information, it was difficult because it didn’t have repeats. Each row had about fifty different directions. It looked like someone new to pattern writing decided to cast on X number of stitches and then figure out how to put the cables in rather than figure out what the pattern was, and how many repeats you wanted, and work out how many stitches to cast on from there.

Most knitting patters read something like *K5, P3, repeat from*. This bugger was k9, p1, k6, p1, k8, p1, k7, p1. Screw that, figure out the repeat, and then figure out how many to cast on. I just did the math, and figured out the repeat, which would have been K9, P1, K6, P1 would have only taken another five stitches to fit in. Five stitches, when you have ribbing on the bottom, won’t make or break you, it’s stretchy. It will give you an uneven number for the ribbing, but, oh well. Either add a stitch, or live with it. Better than trying to jam the repeats into the number of stitches by changing numbers all the time.

Anyway, somewhere in the frogging or tinking or maybe I never cast them on in the first place, but I lost a couple of stitches somewhere. And I’m lazy. So I just figured out how to make a repeat with the number of stitches I had, and knit it that way. Much easier on my old brain than trying to remember what comes where.

When The Boyo got back from Bellingham last night, I was just refinishing the crown of the hat again. Which I had to

Up close and personal

figure out how to do, since I had messed up the number of stitches. It’s basically just decreasing evenly all around, then when you get a tight little circle, threading your yarn back through your stitches, and pulling it closed like a drawstring. And, of course, weaving the ends in. I also didn’t like how the pattern left the plastic I used for the brim exposed, so had to knit a piece to cover it. But I got it all done, and he finally got his X-mess hat. Then when he’s leaving this morning he has his old hat on. Why? He doesn’t want to get his new hat sweaty riding his bike.  Um, I made it with washable yarn for a reason, Bud.

Anyway, after that knitting marathon, I decided that today was a “no knit” day. Besides, my book is due back to the library in a couple of days. And the dog needs a bath, and the house needs cleaning, etc.

Responses

  1. And knitting is relaxing? ‘Cuz my head hurts from reading your description. That’s harder math than we engineers do!

    Signed: Another “Save the good one so it doesn’t get messed up” kind of guy.

    • You aren’t supposed to have to do the math, the pattern designer does the math. As this one did, except she used calculus instead of arithmetic. Which is why I was pissed at her. So basically, I now have my own pattern for this hat, not much different from hers, but with repeats so my senile and feeble brain can comprehend it.

  2. she makes knitting sound like algebra 😦

  3. it turned out pretty nicely! and he’s a keeper – very sweet that he didn’t want to mess it up! i think you’ll be publishing your own patterns in fairly short order!

    • Perish the thought! I don’t want to think that hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

