Posted by: silverstar98121 | September 27, 2009

Returning

My apologies to all of my (few) readers. I have been very depressed for the last few weeks and did not feel like posting. Because I don’t think you want to read whining all the time. I’m finally feeling better after an increase in my meds and some other things. And I want to thank the people who reached out to me during this time. It was much appreciated.

So what have I been doing all this time? The folks who are on Facebook know. First Scarf 001You can check Cache of the Day for new finds. I knitted a scarf. This thing has only taken me about two years to do because I didn’t know how to knit. I finally learned. This thing came in a kit, and was really too small for anything when made according to directions. So I had to improvise, and ended up with a scarf that would fit a child. It found a new home in a charity knitting project. Right now I’m knitting the gauge swatch for a sweater.

I’m now taking a class in photography, to better use my camera. We aren’t allowed to just put it on Auto and go. I’m having to learn stuff like f-stops and shutter speed. And now it’s finally starting to make sense. But I’ve taken a lot of really lousy picture lately. The header is one that turned out OK.

Other than that, I’ve pretty much just been hanging out and reading murder mysteries. After you haven’t blogged for so long it’s easy to put it off. I’ll try not to do that anymore.

Responses

  1. I am so sorry that you were feeling that rotten but glad that you are starting to feel better. I have been there and still slip in…. hugs to you Eileen… Michelle

  2. good to hear that you’re feeling better. hoping that there’s balance and fun ahead for you! the photography class sounds engaging… i’m a ‘point and shooter’, but appreciate those who truly understand the intricacies of the medium… great header shot!

  3. Hey there! Glad to hear that things are looking up and up.

    I once wanted to know how to use all those fancy features in photography. I waited, though, and the wanting wore off. I’m pretty an “Auto” pic taker, for the most part. You can change f-stops and shutter speeds on a digital camera? Only question I have is: why?

    I hear ya on the blogging delinquency thing. Most of the summer I’ve been too busy with other stuff. I can barely keep up on blog reading, let alone writing.

    It’s a bit sad, I’ve found, when the sense of “community” gets frayed around the edges.

    Carry on!

    • The answer to why? is to get different effects from the medium. And you can only change shutter speed and aperture with a DSLR, and then only if you RTFM.

  4. Hey kiddo, your blog is for your pleasure and benefit. If you need to whine on it, please do. I would hope that your cyber-friends would always step up to the plate for you.

    • WHIINNNNE! Nobody love me, I’m gonna go eat worms.

      • i love that song!
        Nobody loves me, everybody hates me, guess i’ll eat some worms!
        Great big fat ones, long thin skinny ones!
        See how they wiggle and squirm!
        BITE their heads off!
        SUCK their guts out!
        Throw the skins away! Nobody knows how many worms,
        i can eat in a DaaaaaaaaaaY! (followed by a big ol’ raspberry!)

        seriously, that is one of my ‘therapy’ songs. which might explain why i was kicked out of therapy!

      • Dang! I was gonna chime in with that song, too, but Daisyfae beat me to it. (Although she doesn’t mention the itsy-bitsy fuzzy-wuzzy worms.)

  5. sorry you’ve been unwell, I’d assumed wrongly that you’d stopped blogging because you were doing the cache thing.

    the scarf is very pretty and i like the header photo of the leaves too

  6. I’m sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well. I’ve missed you over at my place so I thought I’d better check in on you. I’m glad you’re doing better. Keep on snapping away and post those photos for us to see.

  7. Header pic’s a beaut – you’ll be an ace photographer, who knew that’s where you leaned? You are such a geek. I mean that in a good way.

    Also: I was thinking about learning to knit a sock. Is the creative thrill worth the nauseating tedium that knitting seems to induce in me?
    Glad you’re feeling better. I’m still alive, too, but … the jury’s still out on everything else. Feh.

    • Ah, but the tedium is the medium. I get so relaxed I can actually sleep. You should read “Zen and the Art of Knitting” by Bernadette Murphy.

      • You are so right. About a year ago I got a sudden urge to knit (out of the blue, these things happen from time to time). So I bought some knitting needles and yarn and searched You Tube for how to knit videos and taught myself to knit. In the store where I bought the yarn and needles there was a sign asking people to knit or crochet 9×9 inch squares to be donated and made into blankets for the homeless in a “cover America” program. So I started knitting and watching TV before bed and it really is the tedium that was very relaxing and helped this insomniac get a little sleep, and doing something for someone else at the same time. I have donated several stacks of my knitted squares so far.

  8. The header photo is gorgeous!

    Glad you’re back. 🙂

  9. Welcome back and glad you are feeling better. I’m looking forward to seeing your photos during and after the class. I learn something new just about every day in photography. You should start a Flickr account. It’s a great place to learn and show off your shots.


Leave a Reply

Categories

