Posted by: silverstar98121 | May 29, 2009

T-Shirt Friday 5/29/09

T-shirt 5-29 007

Once again, T-shirt Friday has rolled around, and Nurse Myra has a particularly stunning outfit this time. So go take a gander over there, AFTER you get done looking at my effort. Or I know you won’t be back anytime soon.
In case you can’t read what the T-shirt says, it says Chihuly. Dale Chihuly is a world renowned Seattle glass artist. He’s famous for putting glass pieces in gardens and making them look natural. He’s done shows all over the world. His glass has been displayed at the New York Botanical Gardens, and the Royal Botanical Gardens in the United Kingdom, as well as many other places.

So did I get to see an installation in a botanical garden in Seattle? NO! I had to go all the way to St. Louis, MO to see Glass in the Garden at the Missouri Botanical Gardens. Why, you may ask? Well, for one thing, one thing that Seattle lacks is a decent botanical garden.

The exhibit was back in 2006, when I went to my brother’s 50th birthday and 30th anniversary shindig. And let me tell you, those gays really know how to put on a party. But enough of that.

Here’s a slideshow of pictures I took when I went. I took them with The Boyo’s little camera that I really didn’t know how to use, so they’re not all that good. If you want to see good pictures and a video of the exhibition, go to the link above.

Responses

  1. I’ve not heard of Dave Chihuly before – his work is so interesting. Thanks for the link, I’d proudly wear his t shirt too

  2. That is a very cool T!

    Hey, you were gonna remind me about t-shirt Friday so I could participate. Ah well, maybe next month (but please give me a day’s warning).

    • It’s still Friday. Put a T-shirt on and play.

      • Nope sorry. I’m one post az. One post a day is what I do. One post az can’t do no more…

  3. I am daft for glass catching the sunlight in gardens; I could have camped at an exhibit like that. Maddeningly, photos never catch the full effect.

  4. I love Dale Chihuly! They had 2 exhibitions of his work down here at Fairchild Gardens, several years ago. I posted some of my pics a couple of times awhile back. Wish I had a shirt like that. Wonder why they didn’t sell them here…

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  5. I love Chihuly too. Sure wish I could afford one of his works.

    • Don’t we all? I think they are gorgeous, but not for mere mortals. Millionaires, maybe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

