Posted by: silverstar98121 | May 20, 2009

Beginning to Commence to Start

Why is it that we can’t get started doing things we know we need to, things that are good for us. Or perhaps I should rephrase that. Why is it so hard for me to start doing things I know I need to do? Like eat more vegetables. Or exercise. Or really stick to a budget. I am such a procrastinator when it comes to this stuff.

I restarted my membership at the YMCA at the first of the month. Haven’t been back to the building since there. Bought lots of nice veggies. They may end up being compost.*sigh* What does it take to get me off the dime? I don’t know at this point.

Besides which I’ve been meaning to straighten up the living room for days now because I’ve misplaced an important purchase. Can’t find it anywhere. And it’s not that small. But I’ve got to get on it.

I guess it takes me a while to get going. I’ve bought a gym bag to carry my swimsuit in to the Y. Haven’t dug out the swimsuit from the drawer where it’s been living since November yet though. Need to get on that. Bought a lock for the locker, too. Now to just get my bum down there.

One of the books I borrowed from the library is overdue. Can’t find it either. Another reason to straighten the living room. If I’d sweep and dust the bedroom I might not wheeze in the mornings. I just don’t have a lot of energy right now. Or maybe my sister is right and I’m just lazy. I always just say there are more interesting things to do than keep house. Too bad I’m not rich enough to have a cleaning lady. And there’s no app on the G1 to clean house. I know, I looked. I could hook up with Fly Lady, but I really don’t need ten emails a day I won’t read anyway. Or just maybe I do need that.

I just looked at the Fly Lady site again, and maybe that’s what I need. Her thing is to do something for fifteen minutes. You can do anything for fifteen minutes. That’s even within the range of my energy limitations. So I guess I’ll go do something for fifteen minutes. And maybe I’ll sign up for Fly Lady, too.

Responses

  1. Yikes! That Fly Lady logo is seriously scary.

    How about this? Make a list of the things you want/need to do. Email it to me. I’ll check in with you every day (we can arrange a specific time if you like) and find out what you’ve checked off the list, if you’ve added anything to it, etc.

    Even if it’s just that you made a fabulous veggie stew or did 15 minutes of housecleaning.

    Might help by giving you a “goal” to meet each day/week rather than just a lot of stuff you know you should be doing floating around in your head.

    Wanna give it a try? Can’t hurt, might help…

  2. I think Azahar’s idea sounds better than joining Fly Lady

  3. Small steps, I believe, is the key. But, personally, I find even small steps difficult at times for the very reason you wrote: It’s easy to find something “better” to do with the time.

    I have to make a conscious effort sometimes to ensure that I’m not wasting time though. And even then, it occurs from time to time.

    I wish I had the answer but I don’t. Sometimes the fall back is that oft reported line from “Finding Nemo” where Dory says, “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming!”

    The other thing you could do is go on a quest for a “Round Tuit”. I understand these are rare, but then you could say things like, “I’ll clean up the bedroom once I get a round tuit.”

    😀

  4. I’m with you, kiddo. My list of “should do’s” and “haven’t done’s” is plenty big….

  5. we always overestimate what we can do in a day, but typically underestimate what we can do in a week, or a month. smaller, more manageable goals. the 15 minute thing is a good start… i work from lists. even putting things on the list that i just did, so i can have the satisfaction of crossing something off! now, if i just didn’t lose the damn lists all the time….

    • That’s what Crackberries, Iphones, and G1s are for, soo you don’t lose your lists.evenif you lose your phone.

  6. I use the rule of five. I will hang up 5 items of clothing, I will pay 5 bill, ect. I usually end up doing more. It’s the getting started that is hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

