Posted by: silverstar98121 | May 2, 2009

Time, Money and Blogging

A year ago and a little more, I took up blogging. I was lonely, my coven had just disbanded, and now I had nothing to concentrate on. So I reached out to the web to tell my story. Like Charles Kuralt, I think everybody has a story, you just have to listen. So I told my story in the hopes that somebody would listen. And I have a loyal following. Not large, but global media domination isn’t my gig. I like quality rather than quantity. And I have managed to attract the best on the internet, I think.

I really appreciated what all of you said on my blogiversary. I had been feeling like I really didn’t have anything to say, anymore. Who wants to read about a crippled lady taking a bus ride? Well, apparently there are a select few. I adore my fan base.

All of you add to my life so much. I really appreciate all Daisy Fae’s comments. She’s loyal, she’s there every time I post. And I really loved meeting her in real life, she’s a neat lady. Kym doesn’t comment often anymore, but I know she’s been here. And Kym, you show me the world through different eyes, too, the eyes of a true artist. Even though we’ve had our disagreements, I count Rob as a friend. And I admire the discipline and energy Annie applies to her writing career. Michelle at Rambling Woods and I have the links of chronic disease and a love of nature. Although I don’t get to see it much where I live. I count Azahar as a close buddy, we twitter to each other frequently. And Archie always surprises me when he pops in.If I didn’t mention you, it’s just because you didn’t comment that day. I know there is a silent majority out there.

And this is where the time and money come in. Last year at this time, I had little money, and then things got worse. Blogging is free, sort of. As long as I pay my ISP bill, it comes to me in torrents. And I could take advantage of it because I didn’t have anything else to do. And even if I did have other stuff I needed to do, I just didn’t do it. And so my house got to be a big mess, and I would often spend eight or more hours reading blogs. Because I couldn’t afford to do other things, and I was depressed about it.

Now that I have a little money, the world has opened up for me. I can go to meetups now. You have to at least have the price of a cup of coffee to go. Now I can afford to go to the meetups, and so I’ve picked up two or three. Or four. That’s some of my blogging time. I’m making a gift for a friend, crocheting it. Sorry, can’t blog and crochet. The wheelchair gives me a lot more mobility than the scooter did, because I can easily put it on a bus. So I run off to places like Alki, or one of the parks, or something. I have new cameras, and learning to use them takes time. The video camera is especially time-consuming, because when you are rendering video, your computer is fully occupied. No multi-tasking allowed. There goes more blogging time. My doctor wants me to start an exercise program at the YMCA. More time.

Oh, you’re not getting rid of me that easy. But especially through the summer you will probably only see me once or twice a week unless something dreadful happens and I suddenly have time on my hands. I also probably won’t be reading as many blogs. But I think my loyal followers are safe. But again, you might only see me once or twice a week. I’ve been thinking about setting aside time for writing. Right now, I just write whatever pops into my feeble brain. I have other things to say, but there’s the time crunch. Having time set aside to write would probably help.

And now ladies and gentlemen, I’m going to go indulge in another bad habit I’ve picked up that is stealing time from my blogging. Since I’m running around so much I find I actually get tired and need to sleep.

Responses

  1. silverstar – i’m SO HAPPY that you’ve been out here, and even happier that your opportunities to get out and about and imerse yourself in life have expanded! i’ll keep reading!

  2. Your blog is one of the highlights on my blogroll. Your posts are witty and clever, and I love what you have to share. I’m glad your life is offering you more scope these days.

  3. I love that your life has opened up more. It will steal time from blogging . I know now that I’m writing for money (YAY!) I don’t have as much time to comment–but I do read every one of yours!

  4. Interesting how you, at times, write what I’m thinking.

    The time thing. There’s just not enough to do all the things that need to be done or the things I’d like to do.

    For some strange reason I feel a bit obligated to scribble out something on the blog every now and then.

    I sense that “other needs” in some other bloggers too.

    I’m reminded of that old saw that starts with something like “People come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. ”

    I’m honoured to be considered a friend Silverstar.

    Rest assured, when you do find the time to write something I shall be reading it.

    In the meantime, enjoy life. That’s why we are here, after all.

  5. “I count Azahar as a close buddy”

    And the feeling is mutual, SS.

    I always read your blog, often in the wee hours on the iPhone. It’s nice having the company when I can’t sleep. 🙂

    And I love reading your comments over at my place, and crossing paths on twitter.

    Anyhow, I think it’s great that your world has opened up and you’ve got lots of other things to do now, even if it means fewer blog posts. I’m very happy for you.

    • Heh,heh,heh.That’s when I read your posts. Either there or on the throne.

  6. Work is the curse of the blogging class! Over the past two weeks I have had a choice – reply to comments on my own blog or visit other blogs. For my own sanity I chose to go visiting. I needed a larger world. My own blog entries have been reduced to left-overs from better times. I just don’t have the time to be creative at the moment.

    • It’s good to see you out and about. Maybe tomorrow I’ll get out. If I wasn’t
      emailing comments from the Google-phone whiie waiting for the bus you
      wouldn’t hear from me, either.

  7. The outside world will call and I am so happy that you now have the ability to access it more fully.

    As people always tell me, blog when you can and don’t worry about the readers.

  8. So sorry I missed your blogaversary.

    I’ve been blogging since 2006 and find the spring and summer months are light as there is so much more to do outdoors.


Leave a Reply

Categories

