Posted by: silverstar98121 | April 18, 2009

Nature Note Festival Edition

nature-notes2A special treat this weekend, slideshows from two different festivals that are ongoing at the moment. The first is the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival, north of Seattle. The first time I saw fields and row upon row of tulips I was totally wowed! I’ve put together a slide show of pictures from lately and from years past. I like it, and hope you do, too.

Another festival going on this weekend is the Cherry Blossom Festival at Seattle Center. The cherry trees have bloomed right on cue, and are gorgeous. Along with looking at all the lovely cherry blossoms, there are a lot of activities put on by the Japanese-American community in Seattle during this weekend. I was over a while ago and watched a Taiko drum band. And wished I had had my video camera with me.

Responses

  1. oh, those tulips! now i know how the market was so filled to the brim with the color! and affordable color at that!

  2. Wow Eileen..These slide shows are beautiful. The tulip photos reminded me that there was a tulip festival in a town called Holland about an hour south of here. Beautiful flowers. The Cherry blossoms are just beautiful..This really get the spring feelings going. Sorry I am a bit late, I added your link to the Mr linky thing…Thanks for taking so much time for Nature Notes. It brought back a nice memory for me…Michelle

    • Thanks for adding the link, Michelle. I finished this last night and just fell into bed.

  3. I have never seen a tulip field. That’s crazy gorgeous.

  4. AbFab! Tulips are my absolutely favorite flowers! I can’t grown them down here, so it’s very cool to experience them this way…

  5. Tulips are one of my favourite flowers too, especially yellow ones. Thanks for that! 🙂

  6. I went to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival in 1989, and I still remember the wonderful fields of tulips. Your slide show really took me back! My favorite image of that visit was a fleeting moment — I was driving past one of the work areas of a farm, and there was a worker up on a flatbed trailer unloading the tulips that had been deadheaded from the plants that day — with a pitchfork. The incredible amount of tulips that sight represented has really stuck with me.

    Oh, I enjoyed the Cherry blossom festival too. . .

  7. Awesome slide show! Each individual image is wonderful in itself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

