Posted by: silverstar98121 | April 9, 2009

Nature Note 4

nature-notes2So, I had thought I had more pictures to share with you, but apparently, I’ve slacked off this week. I could only find one picture I wished to share with you on my camera. I suspect that is because I was playing with my new video camera instead. Unfortunately, I haven’t downloaded that video from my camera.

The one picture I do have is one of my zygocactus, which is now in full

Blooming zygocactus

Blooming zygocactus

bloom, and is gorgeous. Maybe it does help to use the water globes and keep the plants fairly well watered, instead of employing my usual malevolent neglect. At any rate, I have been well rewarded for buying and using those things.

What has been spectacular about this week was the warm temperatures on Sunday and Monday, both days in the upper 60s. That’s unheard of for this time of year. We went from heavy coats to T-shirts in nothing flat. And back to the coats, I might add.  Cliff Mass, in his weather blog, says this is the first push of the year. This is an onshore or marine push, events that follow above-average temperatures and high pressures inland. The winds pick up, and cool every thing off. He describes this as our natural air conditioner.

While I love the marine push in the summer when it’s in the 80s, and I’m melting into a puddle of slime, I really could have wished for a few more nice warm days to just bask in the sun. I know, I’m asking a lot for the Pacific Northwest this time of year. Temperatures have just been “seasonal” since then, and I guess I’ll take that over “below average.”

Budding tree

Budding tree

The warm weather is causing some of the trees that were lagging to start budding out. This tree went from bare to green in one day. I took this picture with the camera of my new Android phone. I love this thing, I’m telling you. And I love this picture of the tree.

I went to the waterfront yesterday, but I was on a mission and didn’t take my camera. Some times I wish I had one of those little point and shoot jobs that I could just throw in my purse and carry with me all the time. And actually, they are cheap enough now, I may just get one to carry around. On the other hand, the Google phone doesn’t do too badly, and it would be one less thing to carry around.

I thought about shooting some video of the chipping sparrows on the patio of the Starbucks at Seattle Center, but now I find I don’t have the right cord for my video camera. I bought the floor model, and all the stuff for it was scattered. So I will have to go to one of the office stores and get the right cord. And drool over the 1.5 Terabyte external hard drives. I am such a geek.

I am going to challenge myself and hopefully you to take a look at nature. What is going on in your area? Is it spring in your part of the world or are you heading into cold weather. Take a little walk….. look at something you might never had paid attention to..a flower…a plant..an animal…What changes are taking place?..Is your garden starting to come to life again?..Step outside and close your eyes. What do you hear? …take a deep breath…What do you smell?
I’d really like to know how my blogger friends feel about what they observe in nature. Post a photo..a poem..artwork or a even few words about what you see and how it made you feel…

Be sure and go over to Rambling Woods to see who else has Nature Notes this week.

Responses

  1. love the bloomin’ cactus! i have even killed air ferns, so am terrible with live things. but the water globe idea? hmmm….

    • Actually, it’s not all that hard to killair ferns. People forget they are
      tropical plants, and needto be misted I’ve killed them, too,especially in
      Colorado.

  2. Hi Eileen..some of the camera phones take really good photos don’t they? I have a small camera I take with me and that reminds me that I have photos in it to download. It’s been in the 30’s here so I will take your weather and everything looks more green and happy in Seattle than in Buffalo. I thought of you as I want to get a scooter, but don’t know if I will qualify as someone who needs it for the ‘home’, but it would give me so much more mobility outside..sigh..Thank you for participating in Nature Notes, I really appreciate it..Michelle

    • You may not qualify under Medicare/Medicaid, but there are other resources out there for you, Michelle. The MS society here has a place where they take donated wheelchairs and scooters, and refurbish them. You should get in touch with them, and other agencies, like the cerebral palsy people, who do that kind of work. I definitely think you would enjoy having a scooter, and it would make your life easier, too.

      I’m really enjoying doing the Nature Notes, and going around looking at other peoples notes.

      • P.S. Look in pawn shops, too. That’s where I found my new wheelchair.

  3. My sister calls it benign neglect, rather than malevolent! I like your cactus, mine is blooming right now, but only a little bit.

  4. That cactus looks happy and healthy! The willow is just perfect for spring, too, with its fragile shade of green.

  5. Lovely cactus! I love the water globes for their beauty as well as function.
    I think your phone took a pretty darn good image of that tree.
    I carry a little point and shot but I take my Canon too – everywhere. 🙂

    Great Nature Notes post!

  6. I love the bright blooms on your cactus! Beautiful shots!

  7. You really should treat yourself to a little point and shoot, they are so good these days they are almost as good as the full size ones.
    You are so lucky having 60 degree weather! What I would give for a bit of that right now 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

