Posted by: silverstar98121 | April 2, 2009

Nature Notes 3

nature-notes2So here it is Thursday already again. There has been lots of stuff going on nature-wise in Seattle, including some snow in the mountains over the weekend. I’m ready to say “enough already.” It’s time for spring to really spring.  We have had below average temperatures according to the Cliff Mass Weather Blog, and I”m done with it. We did get a little sun on Sunday, which is the only reason we made it to the ritual. If it had been raining or windy and miserable, I would have soooo bagged that trip. I did get out after I got home to take some pictures while the sun shone.

We’ve had a lot more rain and wind than sun, however. I went to the library today, and it wasn’t raining when we started, but by the time we were done, it was pouring. Poor Friday and I got soaked just going a half block from the bus stop. Glad to be back home in the warm.

I made a trip just for all of you to Pike Place Market so you could see the masses of tulips and daffodills that are there, and took some pictures of the weather over Elliott Bay, too. It got so cold that I had to stop into Tully’s and have a nice cup of coffee by the fire to warm up.

Here’s a slide show for you of this week’s photos:

Be sure to stop by Rambling Woods, and see who else is posting Nature Notes.

Responses

  1. fabulous pictures – and you’re getting good with the photo software!

    hoping the weather is better late next week – and i’m thinking i’ve got to visit the market! how to pack all those gorgeous flowers in my suitcase will be the problem!

    • I hope so, too, Daisy Fae. We are supposed to have decent weather most of next week, with just a chance of rain on Thursday, but that’s as far as the forecast goes. I’ll keep an eye on it.

      P.S. It’s easy to do the stuff on Slide. The program does all the work for you, all you have to do is upload your photos and decide how you want them displayed. Recommended for beginners.

  2. I like the Rhodies! I have some ice pink ones that can be fabulous. I’m hoping they bloom for my Easter Party.

    The dogwoods are some of my favorite trees . They are so beautiful.

    • I’m waiting for the magnolia to really take off. And the cherry blossoms.

  3. Eileen…I am so sorry you’ve had all this rain, but everything is looking so green and beautiful. The tulips at Pike Place were so colorful and I really love pussy willows and I think it stems back to my childhood picking them with my grandma. The dogwood and cherry tree are something that I don’t see around here. You really live in a great area unless you get caught in the rain on the way home….Thank you for participating in Nature Notes…Michelle

  4. love your photos silverstar but I don’t like the rearranging jigsaw effect…. maybe I’m just cranky today…

  5. I hope you’ll live through the rain and less than optimal for humans spring temperatures…looks like the plants are happy! thanks for sharing your beautiful photos.

    I’m enjoying the pictures in the market! We don’t have fun markets like those where I live in New Jersey. Reminds me a bit of Boston, where I grew up.

  6. Very pretty, but the puzzle thing makes me want to throw my monitor through the window. For the love of god, please never use that again to show us pictures!

  7. I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one that found the jigsaw puzzle thing annoying. I love your pictures though. It makes me miss the Seattle area, I loved living in Bremerton when Jim was stationed on the USS Sacramento.

  8. P. S. The flower you don’t know is called hellbore, common name Lenten Rose

    • Thanks, HMH. I knew somebody would know what it was. Lenten Rose makes sense as a name, as it is Lent, and it is rosy.

  9. Hellebore, not hellbore #@*&**#

  10. Pike’s Market must be a marvelous place. The tulips are sure pretty.

  11. I bow to my audience’s wishes. I will not use the jigsaw puzzle again. Next time I will use the one with the sparkly frame and the moving sparkles. (Kidding, but there are worse things.)

  12. Those flower displays are wonderful. I hope to visit that market someday. It looks like a great place to get lost in for a few hours.

  13. Neat pics silverstar! Loved the dogwood. Hope the one we planted out front survived the winter. It’s in memoriam for our dear departed Cocker, Bugsy.

    You have magnolia’s in Seattle? I’ve only ever seen those in Texas.

  14. These are wonderful shots for nature notes. I really loved the way you showed such a variety and spring is sprung!


Leave a Reply

Categories

