Posted by: silverstar98121 | February 6, 2009

Stupidstition

Every morning the one sister who “they” figure can deal with me calls with more pronouncements from on high. This time, that we are having a commitment service 100 miles away after the funeral. We will be committing both my parents to the ground. I had thought that Mom had been put into the vault at the time of her service, now I find she’s been in the closet for 15 years. Not that I care, nor would Mom, but it’s just funny to me. Especially since in Catholic superstition, all ashes must be intact, or you won’t rise again. OK, I went through 12 years of parochial school, I kinda knew that. I thought maybe it had changed when they allowed cremation, but apparently not.

Next proclaimation: I can’t have Friday at the church. Although I think it has more to do with my brother not liking Friday than it does with the church, but I’m just trying to breeeeeathe through all this stuff. I am venting, I am venting, I am venting. I will live through this.

Then Sis asked if I wanted the wheelchair or Dad’s old scooter. Ummm, it’s older than my scooter, has dead batteries and tires that go flat if you look at them. No, I don’t want it. When I told her that Epona had gone dead, she immediatly said “It’s Dad.” I concur, he’s haunting me already. Oh, well, in my experience he will move on eventually. So the scooter will be donated to the VA.

Which segues into my rant on the VA. One of the residents here in the building is on the VA’s service. In the last two years he has gotten 2 brand new scooters, and a power wheelchair. WTF?? One scooter he only had for 3 or 4 months before they got him a new one. We can’t get our new vets adequate psychiatric care, but we’re buying this jerk a new vehicle yearly? I’m writing my Congressman/Senators. This is ridiculous. Not to mention that by Medicare rules, he wouldn’t even qualify for a scooter/wheelchair. I’m all for honoring our vets, but this is ridiculous.

The Boyo came over last night, and what I thought would be a simple problem with Epona apparently isn’t. I think my sister is right, it’s Dad. But he took me grocery shopping at 2 AM, so I love him to pieces. Thank goddess they have scooters in grocery stores, my knees are having fits. Need to stay in chair today and read a murder mystery, but have too much work. Dang it.

My knees are especially having fits after I ran all the errands I started out to do when Epona broke down. To the library on the bus, then to look for the music my sister wanted for the slide show. But of course, that wasn’t near a bus route. And I couldn’t find the cell phone place. Arrrrgh! I finally found the right address on the internet, but of course, it’s not near a bus line either. It wouldn’t bother most people, but it’s a long slog for me. Phooey.

Oh, Lord and Lady, what I wouldn’t give to have the guts to wear this T-shirt to the funeral. Or this one.

Responses

  1. aw, crap… another day. you’re handling this well – great self awareness under great stress. sometimes it’s harder to be away… The Boyo is a complete stud! Nothing better!

    *sigh* I wish I could take him with me to keep me from murdering folks.

  2. So you’re that sibling, eh? I wouldn’t have guessed:)

    Don’t you hate it when they hang out? Rob had a dream not long ago that Will was sleeping on our sofa and the next morning, Daughter came into my office from the living to tell me she heard someone yawning as though they had just woken up. I think he was just here for the anniversary though.

    Catholics and cremation. It’s quaint.

    Keep breathing.

    Yes, Annie, I am the Designated Crazy Person™ in the family. Although I could nominate a couple of my sibs for being crazier than I am. Still finding it hilarious that my mother was in the closet for 15 years. Maybe things are stricter now that the Popenfuhrer is in.

  3. you have scooters available at supermarkets? what a great idea.

    love the final two lines. Dolce’s t-shirt was the best ever wasn’t it?

    Every supermarket here usually has a couple of scooters available with large baskets on the front for shopping. Since it was 2AM and The Boyo’s ankle was bothering him, we took both of them and went whizzing around the store. Great fun.
    I found a couple of years ago that I could either take the scooter, and have the energy to put the groceries away when I got home, or push a basket and let the ice cream melt.

    I love Dolce’s T-shirt.

  4. Don’t you think that Stonehenge T-shirt should be black if you’re going to wear it to a funeral service?

    They’re lucky I don’t wear purple or red. I figure “dark” is good enough.

  5. You’re holding up very well under extremely trying circumstances, Eileen. Many gold stars and a merit badge for the Boyo!

    I don’t want to be a bad influence, but my own feelings regarding family are: f**k ’em if they can’t take a joke. Actually, it’s just f**k ’em!

  6. i say wear the stonehenge one. It’s dark and it’s appropriate. Although the other one is quite wonderful too. It might cause some heads to explode, however.

  7. Hey, Eileen, I’ve been missing you on the interwebs. I hope everything is alright.

    I started a new blog a few days ago, called Dancing on Thin Ice. You may, or may not like it, I dunno; but check it out and let me know what you think.

    Be well.

  8. Been a long time, everything o.k?

  9. I’ve been wondering the same thing, Mick.

    *sends snibbles*


Leave a Reply

Categories

