Posted by: silverstar98121 | January 1, 2009

Happy New Year!

Fireworks from top of Space Needle

Fireworks from top of Space Needle

You will be happy to know that I am in a better frame of mind than I was when last I wrote. The Boyo went to his building and picked up a Christmas gift someone had left him. It had a lot of food goodies in it, and a couple of DVD’s. We tried to watch Pan’s Labyrinth, but couldn’t get the English subtitles to work, and ended up watching A Beautiful Mind, which we’d both seen, but some time ago. So it was food and mindless entertainment for the win.

I have also solved the mystery of Seattle’s colder weather this year. I got my

Shooting up!

Shooting up!

electric bill, and my electric usage for this December is only a third of what it was last year. From this I can only conclude that this building is no longer heating the entire city of Seattle. No more heat loss out the windows.I am so going to make out like a bandit on the budget billing thing.

Fireworks from the Space Needle are de riguer every year, but I’m having a bit of “locked-in syndrome.” The system that operates the security door is down, so if you get out, you can’t get back in without a special key. And I don’t have one. It’s run by computer, and I suspect there was a network problem, because I couldn’t get on the internet around that time, either.  So I

The Grand Finale

The Grand Finale

will treat you to some photos from last year.  Besides, with all the stuff I heard going on out there, I think I didn’t want to be out there.

I also got a corrected bill for my health insurance, so I know they’ve made the changes, and I won’t have a deductible to deal with this year. So things are going pretty well. The Boyo went back to the building to work tonight. Unfortunately, he left all his crap here. But I”m sure he will come and get it soon. I hope the drivers for his laptop come Friday, and I can get it to do something besides play Scrabble.

So now I’m off to do some other things. Cook, sleep, knit, watch TV, something.

Happy New Year!

Responses

  1. Excellente! Glad to hear things aren’t looking so bleak as they were a day or so ago …

    Just back from a walk and a snack with Nog … going to settle in now to watch dvd’s and eat popcorn. And do laundry! The new machine finally came yesterday! Now if it would just stop raining…

    Feliz Año Nuevo!

  2. Wow, good news about the electric bill! Ours was the opposite – 150% of what it was last month. Bleah.
    Hope you get outside for a little spin today. Cabin fever sucks.

  3. Silverstar:

    I’m a bit behind in blog reading but I am happy to hear that things are looking good for you all right now. Take it and ride it for all it’s worth.

    Great news on the electric bill. The “experts” are just sucking slough water when they talk about the importance of good windows. Especially in a winter climate.

    Here’s to more good news coming in 2009.

    Happy New Year to you and the Boyo!

    Rob

  4. Glad things have improved.

  5. May 2009 be a most rewarding year for you and yours, Eileen.

    Mark

  6. I am not looking forward to my electric bill when it comes. I have had two house guests, which means more than twice as many showers, plus I feel like it is mean to not allow a guest to heat their bedroom. . . I figure that my water bill will be like the bill I get in August when I have to water the garden, and the electric bill will be most startling indeed.

    On the other hand, we have two very helpful twentysomethings around, and it is wonderful to have our son back from Iraq, so I guess I can’t complain too much.

    Plus they went out and got me another fabulous ripplestone rock today while I was off getting a massage. So I guess I had better not complain too much.

  7. those photos are so frickin’ cool (yeah, i have know some french). just got my gas bill for december…arggghhhh!!! i sympathize with you. but, still, a very happy new year with hopes and dreams to fulfill

  8. happy new year silverstar – great photos!

  9. Those are gorgeous fireworks photos. What a shame you couldn’t go out and see them this year. The building manager should have gone to every unit and given every resident a key.

    So glad to hear your energy costs are down. That’s funny, the building is no longer heating all of Seattle. Reminds me of something my mom used to say when we didn’t shut the door quick enough.


Leave a Reply

Categories

