Posted by: silverstar98121 | December 4, 2008

Blinded by the Light!

 

deck-the-halls-002Well, maybe not right now, but I will be tomorrow when the sun comes up on my brand new blinds.  Imagine, no more brown paper window treatments! I’m ecstatic! I was seriously considering taking down the brown paper, and putting up some more festive, holiday themed paper, but before I could act on it, we were served notice that the blinds would be installed today. Hip, hip, hooray!

 

I’m also ecstatic that I was up, showered and dressed when

New bedroom blinds!

New bedroom blinds!

the workmen showed up. Unlike the last time workmen showed up at my place.  I decided, however, that it would be a good time to bug out of there and go grocery shopping. Eh, maybe that wasn’t such a good idea. I think all of lower Queen Anne was at Safeway this afternoon. Arrrghhh!  But anyway, two things done. Now The Boyo and I can proceed with our plans to deck the halls on Sunday. 

The other thing to be happy about is WordPress 2.7. I am really happy with the spiffy new interface, and how fast it is now, especially in Chrome.  Firefox does not seem to like my computer anymore, unfortunately. I love the simplicity of it all. It seems to have been well accepted, only a couple of  “It sucks” in the forums.  The only disappointment is that the threaded comments aren’t activated yet. So I will have to wait patiently (or not) for that.

As if I need another internet “home”, I’ve also changed from Google Reader to Netvibes, and you can see my public page here. I like it because I can have my email, Twitter, Facebook, and everything else on my private page, so I don’t have to open 47 tabs to see what’s going on. And they have themes. Probably Google Reader will have them soon, too, as they’ve just put them on G-mail recently. But I couldn’t wait. I have a nice Christmasy theme up right now.  Now to add a few things like Azahar has on her public page. 

Well, enough for now. More Yule goodies soon. I promise.

Responses

  1. The new blinds look fabulous! And just in time for Christmas.

    I really like the new WP dashboard too. Now if I could just figure out how to upgrade my WP.org site to 2.7…

    Isn’t Netvibes great? I see you got the full webpages up. It’s so convenient having everything on one page like that. I still can’t get the Friends/Followers thing to load though. It used to work okay, I wonder what’s up with that.

    I like your Netvibes fireplace. On my private page I have a fishtank … very soothing.

  2. silverstar,

    No offense intended, but what I like the most about this post is the positive cheerfulness flowing out through the words. These are the words of someone living life and enjoying it right now. I can actually “feel” the vibe. So glad that things are going well for you.

    Happy Yule to you and yours!

    Rob

  3. Those look really nice. I still have windows to do and it has been 4 years here…so I have blind envy…

    New Rambling Woods Site

  4. Rob- Why would I be offended? I am having a good time for once in December. Don’t jinx it.

    Rambling Woods- I wouldn’t have blinds if it depended on me to do it. Somebody else is responsible, so I have blinds.

  5. love the new look – both the windows and the new “entryway” to silverstars world!

    • Don’t get too used to the new look on the blog, Daisy Fae. It goes away on
      12th Night.


Leave a Reply

Categories

