Posted by: silverstar98121 | December 1, 2008

Winterfest

 

So I went over to Seattle Center to take pictures of the outdoor decorations. Not really a good time, because it was foggy and that tends to flatten out the light pollution. But I think I got some interesting pictures anyway. Seattle Center gets lit up like crazy this time of year.

Carousel outside of the ice rink.

Carousel outside of the ice rink.

 

 

 

Spotlights outside of the ice rink.

Spotlights outside of the ice rink.

 

Wreath outside of ice rink. You can kind of see the fog.

Wreath outside of ice rink. You can kind of see the fog.

 

The tree's not crooked, my camera is.

The tree

 

Space Needle in the fog.

Space Needle in the fog.

Responses

  1. I love a carousel

  2. I think the fog adds to the overall “effect” of the photo. It adds a kind of uniqueness and makes the photo more artistically interesting.

    Reminds me of when I last visited Arches National Park near Moab, UT in November 2006. It was just after Thanksgiving and there had been a snowfall.

    The folks who take pictures for calendars and such were out at the park in droves trying to get “snow” pictures. Being from the Great White North, I was a little dumbfounded about the interest in snow, but I guess it’s a bit of a rarity to have an opportunity to take pictures of the various arches covered in a blanket of fresh snow.

    BTW, the current photo on the header of my blog is a composite of photos I took that day – in a near blizzard – at Delicate Arch.

  3. This post made me realize that I’ll need to get passports for my kids if we wanna go to Seattle to check things out. It’s a cool place to visit, isn’t it?

  4. Silverstar, these are beautiful! I can’t decide if I like the spotlights or the Space Needle the best. I don’t get city lights here and love when I get to see them in photographs. Thank you.

  5. Nurse Myra- my new header is just for you.

    Rob- I agree. the fog does add to the effect. I just wanted a clear photo. Not happening.

    Sal- I hope you do come over soon. I got to Vancouver Island once or twice, would love to go again. Would love to see Butchart Gardens this time of year, I hear it’s gorgeous.

    Kym- there will be more pictures of city lights for you soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

