Posted by: silverstar98121 | October 12, 2008

Life Sucks…

My life right now.

My life right now.

For me right now. The days are shortening in an ever faster cascade. Acorns fall on my head when I go outside. It’s getting cold. Crap, it’s that time of year.

One of the blogs I read just posted that her husband had put on his long-johns for the winter. I can’t find the post, I suspect she thought better of it, definitely was TMI. But it reminded me that although I don’t need long-johns in the mild marine climate of Seattle, there is something seasonal that I hadn’t done yet, and that is increase my meds to their winter levels. So now I have done that.

Speaking of life sucking, I’m just grateful that mine doesn’t  suck that much. I have a roof over my head, food to eat, (even though I haven’t had the energy to cook lately, it’s that serotonin thing). I have friends, even though many of them are virtual friends. I have a steady (albeit eroding) income. I’m getting new windows. Although that sucks because it means I have a lot of work to do before the 29th.

When one of my virtual friends is battling cancer, and a lot of folks are losing their shirts in the stock market (including my sister, whose income depends on the stock market), I’ll just keep taking my (cheap, generic, effective) anti-depressants, turn on my SAD light, and suck it up.

A chant that we sing at Winter Solstice comes into my mind. I hold it out as hope that this, too, shall pass.

Light is returning,

Even though it is the darkest hour

No one can hold

Back the dawn.

Visit http://www.someecards.com/for some freaking hilarious e-cards.

Responses

  1. Hey there,

    Rob made the comment on his own blog. I used to like autumn, but now it fills me with mild dread. My Rob and I are already counting the days until better weather and light levels. I sometimes wonder whether the temperature/precipitation trade-off actually works for me.

    Sally

  2. Sal- I knew I’d seen it somewhere. If I had my druthers, I’d druther live somewhere like San Diego, but I don’t so…

    I do know the temperature extremes in flyover country kill my arthritis and fibromyalgia, so I’ll take my meds and turn on my SAD light, and the light will return.

  3. I get very down in winter too which is why I take my holidays then and go somewhere warmer for a while. luckily winter only lasts a couple of months over here but I still hate it…

  4. my SAD light burnt out…

  5. Nurse Myra- If I could, I’d be a snowbird and migrate down to south for the winter.

    Gnu- how SAD, I’m sorry to hear that

  6. hard to find the fun in the winter… maybe a tennis racket and sitting outside swatting acorns at squirrels? or annoying neighbors? hmmm… then again, maybe not. might take out one of the new windows…

  7. I couldn’t take summer all year long, but I’m glad that winter here only lasts about 3-4 months and is never too cold. The two winters I spent in Bristol almost killed me! At least in Canada it’s sunny …

  8. Winter is okay but it would be better if it didn’t last so long.

  9. […] Stumbled upon https://silverstar98121.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/life-sucks/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

