Posted by: silverstar98121 | July 2, 2008

It’s too damned hot…..

International fountainLike Manuel in Belfast, Ireland, Seattlites tend to wilt when there is any hint of heat. I hear in Belfast they have to lie down when it gets to 19° C, we Seattlites are hardier and can take temperatures up to 23.8°C before we become a pool of melted slime. Recently, it’s been 28° there. Centigrade, that is. About 82° Fahrenheit (which I’ve been spelling wrong for years). Here on Sunday it was 32.2°. No, we’re not back in Siberia, that was Centigrade. Ninety degrees US. If you need help with the translations, you can go here. And by the way, why are we so out of step with the world that we don’t use metric?
No, I’m not complaining like some other people. I remember the Siberian temperatures of the recent past.
So what’s a delicate flower like myself to do when the temperatures are soaring? Fortunately, usually even when it’s hot in Seattle, the humidity hovers around 50%. Thank heavens. And there is a breeze. Unfortunately, the apartments I live in are not designed to circulate air unless you leave your door open. Not an option. Luckily I spent some of my crazy money on an air conditioner a couple of years ago. Very necessary because the pain from my fibromyalgia will increase in the heat. And The Boyo came over and opened the window that was stuck, and helped put the vent together.
There are outdoor things you can do, too. You can go to the International Fountain at Seattle Center, Seattle’s free giant sprinkler/cooler. Everybody plays in this thing, including the big kids on Sunday during the Pride Fest. And yes, it’s chlorinated and there are ramps for easy access even for us gimps.
You can go down to the Olympic Sculpture Park on the waterfront, where you at least can get a good breeze. Man and sonAnd see this awesome statue that has some folks in an uproar because it is anatomically correct. Or it was the last time I saw it. That may have changed.
A little farther down the waterfront is Waterfront Park, home of the ugliest statue of Christopher Columbus in the world. I’m sure they hid it in this backwater because it is so ugly. Actually, I’m surprised the thing is still there after the Native Americans had ColumbusSalmon Homecoming in the park last year. Where’s Homeland Security when you need them?
Sunday was the Gay Pride Parade. I couldn’t miss it. Literally. It was right on the street outside my apartment. And although I echo Dan Savage’s comment,

Oh, and I realize this is heresy and shit, but I’d like to see less of… Dykes on Bikes. You rock, ladies (and gents), your bikes roar, but remember that old show business adage: Always leave ’em wanting more.

at least they don’t scare the dog as much as the Seafair Pirate’s cannon. Oh, and I’m not your mother, clean up your mess.

Responses

  1. for me, heat is more difficult than cold. seems i can always add layers and bundle up more to get warm, but there´s only so much you can take off. especially when the humidity is so high you´re drinking the air!

    love the play fountain! i´d be all over that… here in Sevilla, it´s been 37-39C, but not as humid, so it´s bearable. and in the shade, with a cold beer? heavenly! the nights are beautiful…

  2. Thirty-nine degrees!!! Yikes, been there, done that when I lived in Eastern Colorado. Still too hot for this girl, even with low humidity. But I will say that the most miserable I’ve been is a couple of years ago when I was in St. Louis for my brother’s birthday. 90 degrees and 90% humidity. Yuck! And one time when we were driving cross-country and stopped in Toledo, Ohio. I walked out of the motel room, and thought I’d dived into a swimming pool. Think I’ll stay here. 71 degrees and 61 % humidity right now.

  3. a visit to Seattle sold me on it. the breeze and low humidity always made the heat a bit more bearable. but, here in the Wilds and close to the river, the humidity makes even moderate temperature days nasty. you can sweat, but there’s no where for it to go.

    maybe i should become a nudist… just to stay cool, mind you… [cheesy grin]

  4. I don’t like the heat – I like it “nice”. I don’t like the cold either. If I could find the place that was alway 20 – 25 C in the summer and not much colder than -5 or -10 C in the winter, I’d move there.

    Living in Alberta the RH is low, and so I struggle with humidity. The past week in Des Moines, IA has been “sticky” to say the least.

    Incidentally, it’s not really “metric” that we’re using in Canada, but rather SI (or Le Systeme Internationale d’Unite). The “C” in the temperature scale is “Celsius” rather than “centigrade”. We measure atmospheric pressure in kiloPascals. Of course, you likely know we measure speed in kilometres/hour. Foods sold by weight are by the kilogram, gas is sold by the litre. My water bill is measured in m3 (cubic metres).

  5. Samo, samo Rob Celcius vs. Centigrade
    Metric vs. SI
    Quit trying to confuse us rube Americans. Google and ye shall find.


Leave a Reply

Categories

