Posted by: silverstar98121 | May 30, 2008

Confetti Bread for Nurse Myra

I promised Nurse Myra some confetti bread, so here is a photo essay on confetti bread.

The Confetti Bread recipe is found in The Food Processor Bible by Norene Gilletz. If you want the recipe, email me at magicallydelicious121@gmail.com , so we don’t get into copyright trouble.

Ingredients for Confetti BreadHere we have all the ingredients gathered. The one thing you need for this recipe is a food processor. Of course, if you have time, you can do it all by hand, but it is much easier with a food processor. The food processor will grate your vegetables, mix and knead your dough. Good stuff.

Confetti Bread has red pepper, zucchini, red onion, and carrot in it. I use white flour this time, but you could use half whole wheat.

Yeast

First thing you do is set the yeast to proof. You mix it with warm water and a little bit of sugar to get it going. Make sure your water isn’t too hot, as that will kill the little yeasties. The recommended temperature is 105-115 degrees Farenheit. An instant read thermometer is a boon here.

grated vegetablesNext, you grate up your vegetables. This is what give the bread its confetti appearance. You need about a 1 1/2 cups of vegetables. Set the vegetables aside when you have them grated. I made a

Veggiesmistake here, and there is almost two cups of veggies, so I ended up using more flour to compensate. Don’t do this at home in your food processor, instead take some of the veggies out. Otherwise, the dough gets squeezed out of the food processor at the bottom and makes a big mess.


Bread doughNow you are ready to make the bread dough. Bread is not very mysterious, and it has simple proportions. Use 1 cup liquid to 3 cups flour, and 1 package yeast or equivalent. Most recipes have some form of sugar to feed the yeast, and a little salt to limit yeast growth, but that is the basic formula. I learned this from the book “Whole Grain Breads by Machine or Hand, by Beatrice Ojakangas. This book has recipes for bread and instructions for making the bread by hand, or with a bread machine, food processor, or mixer with dough hooks. I like using the food processor, because it is faster than any other method, although I don’t have a bread machine, so I can’t really comment on that.

By this time, your yeast should be proofed, that is, you should see that it is all puffed up in the cup. Yeast Risen You have until this time only put your dry ingredients, including any shortening, oil or egg into the food processor. Now is when we add the yeast, and let the dough form a ball in the food processor. The dough is kneaded by rolling around in the food processor, a matter of seconds, rather than minutes by other methods. Kneading is very important, I have found that even old yeast can be made to rise with sufficient kneading. If you are making bread by hand, it’s a good idea to wait until you are pissed off about something, and then take your anger out on the bread.

Put the veggies in at the very last minute, and process just long enough to distribute them. They will get all cut up, and give the bread its confetti appearance. You can see here that the carrots have colored the dough, and maybe see some flecks of the other vegetables. Click on the thumbnail photo for an enlarged view that really shows the flecks.

One of the best suggestions I have ever had came in the little recipe book that came with my food processor.Bread dough in plastic bag. That suggestion is to raise your dough in plastic bags. This is great, because you don’t have to grease a bowl and cover it with a towel. And no drafts can get to your bread to inhibit its rising. You also get to throw the messy bag away. I usually use a bag that I had used to store the previous loaf to assuage my eco-conscience about using the plastic. But I hate to clean greasy bowls. Here is the dough at the beginning of the rising process.

Bread dough risen It takes about 1 1/2 hours for the dough to rise, unless you use one of the rapid yeasts. I don’t, the old stuff is good enough for me. Here you can see that the dough has filledDough punched down the plastic bag. Now you punch it down. At least in the plastic bag, you don’t get bread dough all over your fist. I usually let it rise in the bag a second time, to give the bread a finer grain.

Bread rolled outOnce the dough has risen twice in the bag, it is time to shape the loaves. You usually do this by rolling the dough out, and then rolling it up like a jelly roll, and putting it into the pan. There are other ways to shape a loaf, and it depends on the type of bread you are making. Italian or French bread are just rolled into a log under your hands and put on a cookie sheet, usually with some corn meal to keep it from sticking. Pumpernickel or rye are formed into a rounded mound. Some breads, such as challah, are braided. Once shaped, be sure to cover the bread with a cloth, or in this case, plastic wrap, to prevent drafts from inhibiting the yeast.

bread dough doubledThe last rising is usually the shortest, about 45 minutes to an hour. When the dough has doubled in size, it is time to bake it. Baking times vary, this bread bakes in about 30 minutes, others take an hour or so. The bread will rise a little in the oven, this is calledbread baked “oven spring”. The bread will be golden brown and sound hollow when you tap on it when it is done. Be sure to turn the bread out of the pans and cool on a rack, or it will mold too soon from retained moisture.

Confetti bread, slicedAnd here it is in all its glory. Confetti Bread for Nurse Myra, and all of you.


Responses

  1. yummmm. that looks fantastic. I can make corn bread but that’s about all I’ve ever attempted in that line of cooking.

    luckily, until I can get to your place for a meal sometime, there’s always Tiger Bread from Brumby’s, just a quick walk down the road

    thnaks for the linkage x

  2. making bread was always therapeutic for me, but now i make jello shots! your added tips on this are great – and get me in the mood again to make bread! perhaps one of these weekends when i’m not busily having my house destroyed…

  3. Nurse Myra, I looked up Tiger Bread, as apparently it isn’t available here, except in San Francisco. Sounds like interesting stuff.

    Daisy Fae, I agree, making bread is therapeutic. I’m finding I like my own bread better than the crap stuff they sell in the stores.

  4. ever since you posted this I’ve been on a bread eating binge. if I put on a few kilos I’m going to lay the blame at your door 🙂

  5. Darn, Nurse Myra, my next photo essay was going to be on some fabulous dessert. But I’d hate to be blamed if all the men decided that they didn’t like your Friday postings anymore.

  6. I need to exercise more willpower. right now I’m eating grapes 🙂

  7. Hey, Nurse Myra,

    Thanks for posting your pics and excellent tips on how to make the Confetti Bread from my processor cookbook, The Food Processor Bible.

    I really appreciate that you respected my copyright and yet created awareness in a positive way for my cookbook. Much appreciated!

    Be sure to visit my website at http://www.gourmania.com and see the other cookbooks I’ve written, including my latest, Norene’s Healthy Kitchen, which contains many recipes that can be made either in the bread machine or a food processor.

    Happy cooking and baking,
    Norene Gilletz, Cookbook Author
    Toronto, Canada
    Silverstar here, Nurse Myra resides over at Gimcrack Hospital. However, I am thrilled by your kind words. And I love your cookbook. BTW, I have the 2002 edition, and there is an error in the Confetti Bread recipe. It never really tells you when to put the veggies in, I had to guess. Apparently I guessed right. The bread is really good, and apparently it attracts Nurse Myra in Australia over the Internet. Pretty powerful bread. And since I write myself, I try to respect copyrights. What goes around, comes around.
    Seattle, Washington

  8. alas nursemyra is not the bread maker that silverstar is. I am however, a committed bread eater 🙂

    bring on the brioche and the bagels….


Leave a Reply

Categories

