Posted by: silverstar98121 | May 5, 2008

Dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb….

Well, we all do dumb things sometimes, and my time was today. I will preface this by saying I am a nightowl. More likely to be going to bed at 6 AM than getting up. So about 3:30 this morning, Friday, my service dog, heads for the door. I figured she needed to go out. This is a big rigmarole because we live in an apartment. So I put my coat on, get on my scooter, and out we go. She does her business, and we head back. We get into the foyer before the security door, and it suddenly occurs to me that I have the wrong coat on. My other coat, which I had draped over my chair instead of hanging up when I came home, had my security card and keys in it. *sigh* It also had my cell phone in it, so I couldn’t even call the emergency number to have somebody come and let me in. And if I did get to call the emergency number, it would cost me $40 for them to show up. Not a good thing in my straitened circumstances.

I sat in the foyer for a few minutes, but goddess knows how long it would be until somebody came by to let me in the building. And then I still couldn’t get into my apartment, or call the emergency number. Finally, since I did have my wallet in my pack on my scooter, I decided to make good use of my waiting time and go grocery shopping. When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping.

I want to tell you that grocery shopping at 4 AM is heaven for an agoraphobic. They’ve pretty much finished stocking the store, so there aren’t piles of stuff in the way. But there are usually very few other customers. I grabbed a basket and went to work. I just got one of those you carry, since I still needed the scooter, and knew I could only take two bags home.

So, an hour and $50 later, I am done with my shopping. You might think it would have been cheaper to call the emergency number, but I had planned to spend the $50 on groceries anyway, and you can’t eat an emergency door unlock.

Our Lady of Abundant CaffeineBy this time the goddess Caffeina has opened the coffee shops, so I go to my favorite one, and have a latte and a snack. And fart around for another hour. Now it’s 6AM. By this time, the Nosy Old Man is up playing doorman, and he lets me in.

I still can’t get into my apartment, of course, but I go up to my floor. My next door neighbor is still out in the hall, pacing, where I left him at 3:30. There are rumors he is off his meds. I would say they are probably true. The funny thing about this building, which is designated for the elderly and disabled, is that a lot of the time, you can’t tell anything is wrong with somebody, until the stop taking their meds. You can tell I’m disabled, but I get really wacky off my meds. I don’t do that anymore.

Finally, about 6:30 I brave it, and ring the doorbell of my neighbor who has my extra key. Fortunately, she is an early riser. And may all appropriate gods and goddesses bless her.

Responses

  1. […] Original post by [Technorati] Tag results for disability […]

  2. You are resourceful! They say that you can tell a lot about a person by how he or she deals with adversity – you, silverstar, are a “make lemonade” person! Nicely done!

  3. It doesn’t sound too bad–almost like a productive adventure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

