Posted by: silverstar98121 | September 18, 2013

The Horrible, Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Week…And Its Aftermath

It started on Monday, when my desktop quit working and  started beeping. Evidently, computers have a “beep code”, how many beeps tells you what’s wrong. Mostly they all mean “you’re screwed, it’s something expensive.”

Wednesday my  backpack was stolen with my tablet in it. Also my knitting, some expensive yarn, my Amtrak ticket that I used to visit The Boyo in Bellingham, and some other things of sentimental value.

Friday my cellphone started acting up, like vibrating like a vibrator. While I was trying to talk on it. No, I don’t have one of those apps on it.

Early Saturday morning The Boyo died. I got to Bellingham in time to have a visitation with his body, for which I am grateful. I had my first “ugly cry” there. He donated his body to science, and left soon after that for someplace in Arizona. His ashes are back, and his memorial is scheduled for October 5th. Don’t ask me, I didn’t make the arrangements.

My computer still doesn’t work, it probably needs a motherboard. I don’t have the energy or money to fix it right now. My phone and tablet have been replaced with things The Boyo had. He bought a  tablet a couple weeks before he died. Later on he wondered why he had bought it. I guess we know now, Sweetie. I also got his fancy second hand wheelchair that reclines. I’d rather have him.

The “ugly crying” has tapered off, but I still get caught unawares by it occasionally. I miss him a lot, or at least who he was before the cancer. I’m glad he is no longer in pain. I’ve had sciatica, the flu, and bronchitis. This is par for a survivor. This too shall pass. And so it goes.

Responses

  1. (((hugs))). It does get better with time. That doesn’t make it suck any less, but healing will happen. Sorry that you’re having to contend with multiple downers on top of the Boyo’s passing. Best dealt with one day – one breath – at a time. Take care of you.

    • Thanks, Rob, I know you know whereof you speak.

  2. the universe delivered quite the rotten combination punch/kick/tackle to you. so very sorry… sending you massive ether-hugs tonight. and fingers tightly crossed and hoping that the universe decides to toss a few good things in your direction…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

